As commissioners, the CCG decides which health services should be provided, who will provide them and how they should be paid for. The CCG has a duty to act as an advocate for patients, ensure that the appropriate high-quality services are provided and that those services represent a good use of taxpayers' money.

The CCG is responsible for commissioning a wide range of clinical or service areas for people in the Slough area.

  • Urgent and emergency care (including 111, A&E and ambulance services) for anyone present in the geographic area
  • Out-of-hours primary medical services (for everyone present in the area), except where this responsibility has been retained by practices under the GP contract
  • Elective (Planned) hospital care
  • Community health services (such as rehabilitation services, speech and language therapy, continence services, wheelchair services, and home oxygen services, but not public health services such as health visiting and family nursing)
  • Other community-based services, including (where appropriate) services provided by GP practices that go beyond the scope of the GP contract
  • Infertility services
  • Rehabilitation services
  • Maternity and newborn services (excluding neonatal intensive care)
  • Children's healthcare services (mental and physical health)
  • Services for people with learning disabilities
  • Mental health services (including psychological therapies)
  • NHS Continuing Healthcare (CHC)

To top